Cambrian Rally

Enjoyed my first experience of rally marshalling on a forest stage at the Cambrian Rally yesterday.

Weather was not as bad as the forecast might have indicated, with only occasional light rain.

The stage was pretty muddy, and very slippery at our location, resulting in one poor guy finishing his day too early, after losing an argument with the solid steel gatepost

Happily, both driver and co-driver emerged unhurt, and we enjoyed good craich with them during the rest of the day. (Can you have craich with a Welshman, or do they have their own word for it? — if the do, doubt I could get the spelling right!)

Got chatting with some spectators at one point, one of whom turned out to be a theology lecturer and sometime Director of Ordinands: he inquired if I had felt the call to be ordained, but at that point I found myself needed the other side of the track!

One big thing to be said in favour of rallying as opposed to “roundy-roundy” racing, is the hours involved: signed on about 9:30 (so even with a drive of about an-hour-and-a-half, no silly-o’clock alarm was required) and was on the road home just after 4:00!

Think I’ll definitely be giving it another go.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dave Illing  On 12 Oct 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Addendum:
    My fellow marshals at J3/4 were, Rick Hussey on radio (Silk17), Mike Smith, and another chap whose name I forgot.

Leave a comment