Maybe mother-in-law was right

Apparently Lesley’s mum’s reaction to my buying the Five was “What does he want to get an old car like that for?”

Maybe she was right.  😦

Spent quite a lot of time in the last few days discovering I have a couple of problems I can’t resolve (easily) …

First of all, there’s more oil than I would like on the garage floor. After a lot of rolling around on the ground and peering into inaccessible spaces under the bonnet, I have succeeded only in confirming I have at least two leaks. I know where one is but can’t figure out how to fix it. Don’t know exactly where the other is coming from.

And secondly, it looks like the clutch on the air con compressor is knackered. I’m hoping for helpful advice from the OC Forum where I posted this plea for help:

I’ve got a nasty noise that I have tracked down to the a/c pulley area.

(click picture for full size image)

It seems the stationary bit on front of the pulley assembly is kind of flapping about and striking against the rotating pulley, making a tinny clanging noise. There is also some gungy black stuff coming out of the from of the assembly, between the stationary bit and the rotating bit in the middle.

I don’t know much about the operation of this area and my workshop manual is sparse on air con — basically saying "You need to take it to a professional".

What’s the likely problem? Is there anything I can do, other than pay a professional?

Dave

(1.6 import, 1991)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment